Embrace the timeline….

On creating rich, flashy and immersive advertising experiences online by Owen van Dijk

Mobile Flash, in the market for a new phone

with 6 comments

Those of you who have met me in person, may not be surprised but a lot of people are, when i tell them i don’t have a mobile phone. A little over a year ago i did the most unlikely action for someone who is working in the IT sector, i stopped using my cellphone. I just winged it out of the window literally, decided i didn’t have any use for it.

I gave friends my home number and my work number and never really missed my phone. I travelled all over Europe without a glitch or anything. And although friends and family complained that i could never be reached, for some time i really thought i never had to care about data plans, text messaging and operators.

Ironically, here i am again, at the end of 2004 and i’m in the market for a new phone. Not that i miss my mobile, but i want to broaden my skills as a Flash developer. Since the announcement of the Mobile Developer Program on MAX two months earlier, i have been lurking around the FlashCast and FlashLite forums. I have mailed back and forth with several Macromedians and Flash developers on this ‘new mobile thing’. I find myself getting excited on low resolution screens and limited CPU power, on Flash 4 syntax and on pixelgraphics.

However, there was one thing that was missing and that was a mobile phone. So, low and behold, i’m getting myself a new phone. The problem i’m facing is: “Which one?”.

From my research, the market in Europe and specifically in the Netherlands will probably lead me to a phone based on the Symbian Series 60 platform. For now i’ve decided to go for a Nokia 7610, as i have good experiences with Nokia phones. Besides that, i really like the design of the phone.

I couldn’t find a list on the Macromedia site of supported devices, so if any Macromedians are reading this, please let me know if i’m making a right decision. Also, if you’re a mobile flash developer and have any tips or experiences to share, feel free to leave a comment. I’m all new to this, so the more information, the better.

Expect some more postings on FlashCast and FlashLite in the future, after i’ve got my new cellphone. 🙂

Written by ohwhen

December 21, 2004 at 9:49 pm

Posted in Web/Tech

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “I couldn’t find a list on the Macromedia site of supported devices…”

    I need to learn how the navigation or search process failed, thanks in advance… most of the searches I could imagine pulled it up:
    http://www.macromedia.com/mobile/supported_devices/

    One of the hard parts here is that it’s the combination of device *and* service provider which determines the experience. Voice is still preponderant, but data has faster growth and overall greater growth possibilities. If you can, try to get on a service which offers Macromedia Flash Lite (rather than just a player), and I’d give first dibs to a FlashCast application atop that, although I’m not sure of deployment status today.

    jd/mm

    John Dowdell

    December 21, 2004 at 10:40 pm

  2. I have the 7610, and I will give it the thumbs up for any developers, yeah it’s a little large which doesn’t really bother me that much, I’ve had the tiny Nokia’s of the past and accidentally crushed them 😀

    As for Flash Lite, the 7610 is a nippy device, I think I’m right in saying it’s one of the fastest series 60 phones on the market (123MHz ARM processor) which is something to consider when developing for the lowest common denominator of a 7650 (again don’t quote me :P)… as far as speed consistency issues go (for example in games).

    One more thing for the 7650, the keyboard absolutely sucks, it almost means most traditional/action games are unplayable (try running a NES/GameBoy emulator on it to see), but to be honest, still hands down one of the best development phones out there if you can put up with it’s ergonomics!

    Richard Leggett

    December 22, 2004 at 2:27 am

  3. yep, the 7610 supports Flash Lite 1.1. If you’re planning on submitting content for the Flash Lite 1.1 Content Contest and need a copy of the Flash Lite 1.1 player for development purposes, send an email to flashlite_contest@macromedia.com with the handset model and IMEI number (press *#06#).

    Bill P.

    December 24, 2004 at 7:06 am

  4. I’ve got the 7610 and the 6260.I prefer the 6260. Flashlite runs smoothly on the 6260 and I’ve had no problems.

    cisnky

    January 2, 2005 at 12:01 pm

  5. CEBIT – Siemens, Yahoo and VOIP

    Siemens is showing CeBIT attendees a swath of new cordless phones, wireless network gear and TV set-top boxes, as well as talking up a VoIP deal with Yahoo. This is the company’s Home and Office Communications Devices group–not to be confused with Ben…

    Phone News Blog

    March 27, 2006 at 2:34 am

  6. Tommorow i’ll buying nokia 8800. Anybodu known, nokia 8800 will support Flash MX?:/

    Software news

    November 4, 2006 at 6:15 am


Leave a Reply

