Embrace the timeline….

On creating rich, flashy and immersive advertising experiences online by Owen van Dijk

Backing up your Flash MX 2004 settings ( and Dreamweaver and Contribute… )

with 3 comments

I’m in the luxury position that i have multiple workstations. I own a little, shiny new 12″ Powerbook ( WA-7 ) that i use for writing articles, preparing presentations, answering email, playing around with Processing and Garageband and such, the usual stuff. Being BSD-based, i also use it to compile and test stuff and administer my Virtual Private Server ( thanks to Joe Cheng for the tip ). I got Airport too, so i am writing this on the couch with a vodka on the rocks right next to me. Nothing beats Wi-Fi for sure!

I also have some old boxes with Linux installed, one ( SP-4 ) runs as a private FTP and File server ( IG-88 ), and one ( R4-P17 ) keeps me safe from the outside world being a Firewall, DHCP server and router. SP-4 also serves as my test and deployment server, as it runs Apache and Tomcat and JBoss.


I tend to do most of my development on my Windows XP box ( CZ-3 ) that has Studio MX 2004, VS.NET 2003 and IntelliJ IDEA 4. Being a geek as i am ( did you notice i named all of my boxes after Star Wars droids? ) i download, install and try new (beta) software all the time. After 4-6 months Windows needs a fresh install, and the whole process starts. Backup settings, find serial numbers, copy important files and projects etc. This usually takes me a day work, which i find a waste of my time.

I’ve heard of a utility that could do backups for Dreamweaver, so i searched and found this great peace of software written by Team Macromedia member Jörg Schmalenberger called MM-Exporter. It backups all your settings from Dreamweaver ( including Site-Definitions ), Contribute and Flash with a few mouseclicks. It can also export most of your MM serial numbers into a text file, no need to go through piles of papers searching for your serial. If you ever need to reinstall your Macromedia software, this is definitely a time-saver! Thank you Jörg!

Written by ohwhen

March 13, 2004 at 5:05 pm

Posted in Web/Tech

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dam this has saved one of my clients from a serious attack of jeefo, hllw.affee and kwbot!

    amazing software will be recomending this to all my webby mates.

    Jörg rules!

    Thorbjorn

    March 25, 2004 at 11:42 am

  2. Backing up your Flash MX 2004 settings ( and Dreamweaver and Contribute… )

    I’m in the luxury position that i have multiple workstations. I own a little, shiny new 12″ Powerbook ( WA-7 ) that i use for writing articles, preparing presentations, answering email, playing around with Processing and Garageband and such, the…

    MAXIZION's Weblog

    April 23, 2004 at 6:49 pm


Leave a Reply

