Embrace the timeline….

On creating rich, flashy and immersive advertising experiences online by Owen van Dijk

MX Traveler: Out of order for awhile

with 4 comments

Now wasn’t that popup fun? You have to thank this man. And that’s for now the last word I said about probably the most ridiculous thing I’ve seen on the web since years. As you might have noticed, updates have been low on MX Traveler for the past week. It’s all due to the following:

Last Friday, I decided to move some boxes I keep upstairs, and take them downstairs to sort them out and to throw old stuff away. Earlier, I did the laundry and put the clothes on the stairs, so I wouldn’t forget to put them in my closet. The boxes I keep upstairs are these big, packing boxes made out of cardboard you use for moving, and they were quite heavy because they were loaded with old magazines and books. Determined to sort them out, I took _two_ boxes at once, and walked down the stairs. Of course, they were a bit heavy, but I was lazy and didn’t want to walk twice. Now here I am, carrying two big boxes, loaded with magazines and books, walking down the stairs, not being able to see where I put my feet. Picture an old Charlie Chaplin movie… Yes….I slipped on a t-shirt I put down on the stairs. I felt forward and tried to break my fall and landed on my right ankle. *knack* (insert loads of swearing here)


At first, I thought everything was fine, I sat down and put some ice on it for awhile. Yes, it hurt badly, but since I’ve been skateboarding and snowboarding for 10 years, I was kinda used to it. Sprained or twisted ankles are quite common among boarders. Nothing to worry about right? Wrong! It was not until the next day and woke up that I saw my right ankle has grown to the size of a watermelon (no joke) and I couldn’t even stand up. And man did it hurt. I went to the hospital, they made some x-ray photographs and the conclusion was I had a partially teared ligament.

Here I am, not being able and not allowed to walk, my ankle taped and two crutches. Life has been pretty easy: I wake up; crawl downstairs (that takes me about 5 minutes), try and make some breakfast, crawl back to the living room on the couch, sit down and keep my ankle up. Sometimes I call some friends, I read a book, some magazines, switch on the telly, watch all the DVD I have again and that’s it. When I am lucky, a friend stops by and for a few hours, I am not bored. Everything you take for granted becomes big tasks, for example, going upstairs to get some CD’s, prepare some food in the kitchen, even doing the laundry is quite a task. I can’t even use a computer for longer then one or two hours, because my ankle starts to hurt very badly. Reading my email goes like this: I setup a forward address that will send all the subject headers as text messages to my mobile phone. If it is an important email, I give it two points, if it’s a regular mail, I give it one and if its spam I subtract one point. If I get 15 points, I crawl to the computer room, and reply all important mails. Than it’s back to the couch again…

Tomorrow morning it’s back to the hospital again. Let’s hope it’s good news, because I am bored…bored to death. When I will be able to use my computer again, expect updates on the FLVbrowser, the EOLAS case and some new tools. πŸ™‚ alert(“Press OK to continue reading MX Traveler”);

Written by ohwhen

October 9, 2003 at 5:26 pm

Posted in Weblogs

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lekkerrrr 😦

    Veel beterschap!

    Waldo

    October 9, 2003 at 6:39 pm

  2. Good luck with the foot! see you soon at Clockwork, M.

    Martijn de Visser

    October 11, 2003 at 1:35 pm

  3. Hey Owen! I’m really sorry to hear what happened. I hope you get well soon. (Did they say how long it would take?) I was wondering why you weren’t online.

    Take care! (And no more t-shirts on the stairs, young man!) πŸ™‚

    aral

    October 15, 2003 at 12:28 am

  4. Good luck these days then and get a hold on wi-fi and latops all arround you πŸ˜‰

    Folkert

    October 19, 2003 at 3:47 am


Leave a Reply

